Fudgy Brownies

One of the first paleo treats I ever attempted to make was a recipe I found for avocado brownies.  The idea of chocolate and avocados totally grossed me out, so I can only assume that I was desperate for some type of dessert and had a limited pantry.  The internet is a glorious tool, especially when you are like me and get cravings for random foods.  I don’t know if I would have lasted as long as I did on a paleo diet without google.  There is a hack out there for everything.  And when you have limited ingredients you can literally google what you have on hand and 9 times out of 10 there will be a recipe.  Anyways, back to my story.

I remember I was at my parents house blending avocados while unsweetened chocolate squares were melting on the stove.  I was convinced that this recipe was going to be an epic fail.  It reminded me of that Friends episode when Rachel puts peas and ground beef in her trifle because the pages of the recipe book stuck together.  To my surprise, the batter actually looked and smells like brownie batter.  As I scraped the last of it into the pan, I snuck a taste… holy crap… this stuff was good.

It’s important to note that these brownies come out fudgy so don’t expect the crunchiness of the edge pieces on traditional brownies.  Regardless, they are delicious.  I have served them at parties and everyone who tried them was shocked when they asked for the recipe.  They are very rich, so I recommend cutting them into small pieces and resisting the urge to eat the whole pan in a day.  Jon tried that once, didn’t work out for him.

I searched for the website (TGIPaleo) I originally got the recipe from without luck.  The good news is I have made them so many times, I could recite it in my sleep.

Avocado Brownies

  • 4 oz Unsweetened Baking Chocolate Squares
  • 1 TBL Coconut Oil
  • 2-3 Avocados (about 1 c. puree)
  • 1/2 c Honey
  • 1/4 c Unsweetened Cocoa Powder
  • 1 TBL Vanilla
  • 1 TBL Coconut Flour
  • 3 Eggs
  • 1/2 tsp Baking Soda
  • 1/2 tsp Baking Powder
  • 1/2 tsp Salt

Preheat the oven to 350 F.

Grease an 8×8 pan, bottom and sides. I use a glass pyrex dish and grease it with extra coconut oil.

Melt the baking chocolate and coconut oil, stirring regularly to keep it from curdling.

Puree the avocados.  NO LUMPS people. We are not making guac.

Fold the chocolate into the avocados in a large mixing bowl.

With an electric mixer, beat the remaining ingredients into the batter until smooth.

Pour batter evenly into greased pan.  Bake at 350 degrees for 30 mins. Cool and serve.
IMG_5259
PS- Since Thursday is garbage day we had leftovers from the week to clean out the fridge.  If you’d really like the recipe for last nights dinner it’s simple:
Open fridge. Take out leftovers. Reheat. Eat.
Leave a Reply

