Nobody wants Salmonella for Dinner

Dinner last night was a colossal failure.  Turkey burgers are a staple in our meal rotation so I’ve cooked them countless times.  Last night after adding the seasoning something didn’t smell quite right.  I checked the date on the package. Still good.  Hmmm.  A little more spice couldn’t hurt.  I added some extra hot sauce, formed the patties and put them in the oven.  Thirty-five minutes later I checked the temp and they were good to go. So I thought.  I went about prepping cauliflower and broccoli with a dash of lemon juice and pepper.  I plated everything, no buns of course, and we sat down to eat.  One bite of the turkey burger and spit it back on my fork. “Don’t eat it Jon. It tastes bad.”  Bless my husband and his dear heart that will eat anything I put on a plate in front of him.  “It’s ok babe. It’ll be fine.”  I sniffed it again.  There was no question in my mind that the meat was spoiled.  I scraped the plates into the garbage before he could even get a pity bite in. I was pissed. And hungry. Not a good place to be on the fourth day of our challenge.  I quickly scanned the fridge for leftovers.  Steak fajita strips and ham.  That would have to suffice. Nobody wants salmonella for dinner.

ground_turkey_recall

To make things worse, last night was a completely restless night of sleep.  At 2:30am I finally gave up and just stared at the ceiling until my alarm went off at 4:30.  While this could have been a continuation of the detox, I think it was more likely that my body was protesting that holiday break was coming to an end.  When we finally dragged ourselves out of bed, Jon mentioned that he didn’t feel bloated and the low back pain he experienced everyday when he woke up was gone.  Awesome. I was so happy he was starting to feel the benefits of the challenge.

I also had another victory when I slid into a pair of skinny jeans that five days earlier I had to strategically shimmy on. My bloating was subsiding as well. It didn’t change the fact it was Monday and time to head back to the office, but it certainly helped a little.

Leave a Reply

